Buy bye dandelion

thank you #dverse for reminding me of this poem I wrote way back after a gardening friend tried to convince me to spread weed killer on my gardens grassed area. he had a stripy flat lawn he thought was great. I think it was ugly I much prefer something that is not a monoculture. in the garden.

thank you Sarah to national weed appreciation day.

a yellow flush

Kill me I’m a dandelion.

Why, when my leaves are edible.

Why, when my flowers are eye candy.

Why, when my roots help the soil break up.

Buy bye dandelion.

Are you a know no one,

Within your community,

Do you know no gnomes?

No, I know no gnomes,

Because I’m no gnome friend.

Me I’m nought but a slug.

So why, oh why, poison me.

If your wish to dispatch off me,

I’d much prefer go in a vat of beer.

And let the hedgehog have me in a marinade.

So don’t buy bye little blue pellets.

Say a high hi to a summertime picnic.

Say hi to high summer in a meadow.

Give a high hi to your child,

Then look him eye to eye,

And let him say hi to a high state of mind.

I may be just a cabbage,

I need not live with millions of others,

My roots need no chemical burns,

From your fertilizer and insect killers.

DON’T buy, goodbye insects on my behalf.

Do you think you need me?

Do you think you want me?

I’m the advertising man.

And I say you need me.

And I say you want me.

Bye bye advertising man,

We love and need dandelions more.

© 2018

9 thoughts on “Buy bye dandelion

Comments are closed.