flower hunter.

Celia Dropkin Russian poet and painter was born on December 5th. painter of the picture included and writer of the poem “Sullivan county” which includes the line “in the tender Gray, i swim undisturbed””

#dversepoetspub prompt tonight celebrates the birthdays of all poets born on the 5th December.

Flower hunter.

(a flash fiction based on the line “In the tender grey, I swim undisturbed.” Based on the poem Sullivan County by Celia Dropkin.)

I did not plan to be a flower hunter. But a painting by the Russian poet Celia Dropkin called to my inner romantic. Living in a grey world of beige food, dull company and lacklustre surroundings. The colours were powerful. Changing me from city dweller to craving the colour of country side. Stealing my awareness.

 In the tender grey, I swim undisturbed as I contemplate my future. Swimming in the city pool early one December morning. A flower hunter I will become, ambling through fields, over hills looking for undiscovered feelings. Those feelings like the flowers in the painting.

A flower hunter I shall be. Enough I have had of grey city living. Talking with fools. Breaking bread with bland automatons. Traversing along smog filled streets back and forth between home and the office, now history. A new state of mind will be mine.

© 05/12/2022 rog leach

11 thoughts on “flower hunter.

  1. Rog, you took that line as a watershed moment. I feel the flower hunter’s life has been forever changed. I also believe that one piece of art can do just that. Great write!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.